Bun Run

Last Sunday, Hershey and I participated in the 30th annual Bun Run 5K. I had recently completed the Couch-to-5K training program and decided that this would be a good opportunity to make use of that training.

I’ve been training with about a 9:00/mile pace, probably a bit slower. Additionally, since completing the C25K plan, I’ve switched over to a Bridge-to-10K plan that starts off with shorter stretches of running, though more of them. (Three 10-minute runs instead of one 30-minute run, for example.) Because of this, I was a little worried that my stamina would have dropped a bit. Therefore, in preparation for the run, I set my target pace as 8:45-9:45/mile.

A key factor I had not considered was that the presence of the other runners would encourage Hershey to run faster. We ended up with an average pace of 8:35/mile, smashing my previous 5K PR (over 30 minutes) with an official chip time of 26:55! (I just now looked it up and was surprised to see it under 27 minutes; my GPS time was 27:16.) I placed 265/1236 overall and 20/62 in my division.

There was an option to have a chip for your dog as well, but I chose not to, as I expect may have been a common choice. From the results, 27 dogs were timed and 6 of them finished faster than Hershey, though only 1 female was faster! Good job, Hershey!

, ,

  1. #1 by Dave2 on May 2, 2012 - 3:11 pm

    That Hershey is so hot right now.

    Like

  2. #3 by Sybil Law on May 2, 2012 - 8:54 pm

    Great job Ren AND Hershey! I sure hope she got a great treat for all that runnin’!

    Like

    • #4 by Ren on May 3, 2012 - 7:06 am

      Um, well… her treat *was* the run. Yeah, that’s it!

      Like

  3. #5 by kapgar on May 4, 2012 - 1:44 pm

    Rock on, Hershey!

    Like

  4. #6 by kilax on May 11, 2012 - 2:15 pm

    Congrats on the speedy PR! And way to go Hershey! I think that is so cute you could have a chip for your dog. Aww 🙂

    Like

  5. #7 by martymankins on May 16, 2012 - 5:53 pm

    Congrats to Hershey!

    Like

Leave a Reply

