Longest Run… or Not!

Written yesterday, but my blog was down.

I had thought today’s 6.22 miles was my distance record. A bit of research revealed my error.

2011-02-05 6.68 C210KW6D1
2006-04-10 6.62 from auto shop
2005-10-02 6.34 IBM Uptown Classic 10K

My current record is from when I was doing the Couch-to-10K program early last year. Oddly, I made it through week 7, day 3, before taking a break and yet none of those later days were longer. Week 6, day 3, is, however, missing from my data.

I knew about the Uptown Classic 10K, but I naively expected it to have been shorter than 6.22 miles. The 6.62 miles from an auto shop is from one time I dropped the truck (pre-Prius; actually, maybe pre-truck-Durango).

While doing this research, I had to consult three separate sources of data: my old GPS logs (linked to from my Blog in the “Also See My” section), my Garmin logs (linked as its own MY GPS LOGS section), and my Nike+ logs on my iPhone (though I suppose I could link to those as well). Clearly, some consolidation is in order. I’m not sure what the best choice is for storing the data or how easily it will be to migrate the other data to that choice.

Week 4 of Bridge-to-10K is coming up soon with 3 extra minutes of running, but that’s probably not quite enough to set my record. Week 5, Day 3 is the run that will almost certainly set the new record. Interestingly (to me), that run is likely to hold the record unless I make the decision to move past 10K. The Week 6 runs are just a tiny bit shorter than Week 5, Day 3. There is no Week 7.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by kilax on May 12, 2012 - 11:06 pm

    I think you should go to 7, just for fun 🙂

    A lot of people I know use some of those fitness social media sites to track all of their stuff, but to me, that is just another place to log it all in besides with Garmin!

    Like

    • #2 by Ren on May 13, 2012 - 12:55 pm

      7 miles or week 7?

      Week 5, Day 3 is two 30 minute runs with a 1 minute walk between them (and the usual 5 minute warm-up and cool-down walks). With my current pacing, that should be enough to hit 7 miles.

      When I started tracking my runs, I was using the Garmin 201. At the time, the results were only stored on the computer, so I found and modified someone’s Google Maps overlay to create my own maps. When I upgraded to the 405, the data was synced online and I lost my motivation to update my own version. Then, sometime last year I fully switched over to using the iPhone for GPS logging, which resulted in the third (or more) location for log storage. I’m very tempted to take all of the Garmin Connect data, along with the iPhone app data and load it back into my maps program — which could use some updating.

      Like

Leave a Reply

