Greenling

A while back we received a postcard advertising Greenling, a local farm and/or organic food delivery service. We’ve been dining out even more than we used to and I thought this might be a good way to break that pattern. So, I signed up for an account.

Farmers Have Planted Extra Seeds For You!

It turns out, you can’t order right away. I’m not really sure why, but I got an email with the above quote and an estimate of 1-4 weeks before I could submit an order. A mere eight days later I got the go-ahead to order, which also allowed me to finally see the real details of what was available. Lots.

Too much, perhaps. I was overwhelmed. That was two months ago. I hadn’t given up completely; I kept looking at the weekly emails but wasn’t motivated. Then, on Monday, I received an email promoting their Recipe Kits:

  • Everything prepped and portioned for the meal – no mess, no waste!
  • Easy-to-follow instructions for cooking
  • As little as 15 minutes of total cooking/prep time and you’re done!

The email offered a free 1-meal recipe kit with my first order, and that order could, in fact, be a 5-meal recipe kit. I took the plunge even though I wasn’t completely sold on the cost effectiveness ($90 for 5 meals, which I just now noticed are for 2 people instead of 4 as I had thought — oops).

Our order was delivered today. The box shown at right necessitates a $10 deposit in addition to the cost of the order, and then you leave the box out for them to pick up when they deliver your next order. This can be weekly, biweekly or on demand (on your scheduled delivery day).

You can specify morning or afternoon delivery and they claim that the box can set outside for four hours without a problem. I don’t know what time it was delivered, but I got home a bit later than I had anticipated and everything was still cold. Even the canned goods.

The five meals in this order are:

  1. Meat Spaghetti
  2. Southwest Chicken Salad
  3. Veggie Stir-Fry
  4. Tacos
  5. Curry Chicken & Rice Soup

I took a quick picture of the food (as delivered) for each meal, except for the meat (a chicken breast and some ground beef):

#gallery-1 {
margin: auto;
}
#gallery-1 .gallery-item {
float: left;
margin-top: 10px;
text-align: center;
width: 20%;
}
#gallery-1 img {
border: 2px solid #cfcfcf;
}
#gallery-1 .gallery-caption {
margin-left: 0;
}

I’ll report back after we cook the first meal!

,

  1. #1 by Lisa on May 1, 2011 - 10:57 am

    This looks better than the one we joined last year. It was a CSA that delivered a weekly batch of organic fruits & vegetables. It was rather expensive for what we got I felt, and we had too much waste so I stopped getting the deliveries about halfway through the program. I would rather have the pre-portioned complete meals like yours. I’m interested to see how it works out!

    Like

  2. #2 by Sybil Law on May 2, 2011 - 1:20 pm

    That’s really cool! I wish there was something like that around here..

    Like

  3. #3 by Faiqa on May 5, 2011 - 6:15 pm

    This is very cool. We have something similar to what Lisa has… the reason I haven’t joined is the waste issue, but I’m constantly debating with myself about trying it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

