Minisize Me?

[Note: I’m not ready to write the update for Day 3 of the Santa Fe trip, so instead I’m posting this that I wrote earlier. Tomorrow is Macro Monday, so I’ll try to get the Santa Fe post up for Tuesday.]

Thanks to my fast food diet, I’ve been eating at McDonald’s more often lately. At first, I was getting value priced, but relatively low calorie items like the 390-calorie McDouble. More recently, however, I’ve been having healthier (albeit much more expensive) items like the 420-calorie Premium Grilled Chicken Classic Sandwich (370 without, the mayo, which is how I get it) or the 260-calorie Premium Caesar Salad with Grilled Chicken with Newman’s Own® Low Fat Balsamic Vinaigrette (dressing calories already included there).

I’m actually much more satisfied with these chicken choices than the burger. Sure, the burger has its appeal, but it’s just gone too fast. The Chicken sandwich is quite a bit larger as is the salad. Admittedly, the salad isn’t really enough substance for a full meal, but it works out great if I I’ve gone over my calorie budget (or plan to later).

I haven’t had them yet, but there are also some nice low-calorie dessert choices as well. They only real struggle I have is with breakfast. I’m not a McMuffin fan, so that pretty much leaves the Sausage Burrito as the only real sub-400-calorie choice. Now, it’s tasty enough, but it’s higher in fat than I would like. Of course, I don’t *have* to eat breakfast at McDonald’s, but then, that misses point of this post — which is:

I bet I could eat exclusively at McDonald’s for a month, lose weight and have my state of health improve (cholesterol, etc.). A reverse of Morgan Spurlock’s experiment or a response to Subway’s Jared. Do you think McDonald’s would sponsor me?

The biggest down-side would be the inevitable loss of dining companions as everyone else grew completely tired of McDonald’s, or simply refused to go in the first place.

, , ,

  1. #1 by kilax on April 26, 2009 - 11:55 am

    I think someone has done that and proved that you CAN lose weight! I mean really… as long as you don’t eat too many calories, it’s not a big deal.

    Here’s one example of someone who did it!

    Like

    • #2 by Ren on April 27, 2009 - 7:24 am

      kilax – Looks like the link didn’t get created correctly, but I expect Avitable’s link is either the same or sufficient.

      Calories are the key, that’s true.

      Like

  2. #3 by Avitable on April 26, 2009 - 12:17 pm

    You’ve been pre-empted:
    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/worldnews/article-1172338/Pictured-The-fast-food-junkie-ate-McDonalds-lost-weight-did-pick-healthy-meal-options.html

    I can’t click on the link Kilax posted to see if it’s the same link. Every time I mouseover, it just asks if I want to reply or quote.

    Like

    • #4 by Ren on April 27, 2009 - 7:32 am

      Avitable – Ah, but he also exercised. That’s just cheating.

      Like

  3. #5 by Faiqa on April 26, 2009 - 7:17 pm

    Watch out for the sodium content.
    Sincerely,
    Complete Buzzkill

    Like

    • #6 by Ren on April 27, 2009 - 7:42 am

      Faiqa – Ouch! 1190 mg in the sandwich and 1620 in the salad. Now what am I going to do?!

      Like

  4. #7 by whall on April 27, 2009 - 5:45 am

    No offense, but I think I’d be a better test case.

    Like

    • #8 by Ren on April 27, 2009 - 7:46 am

      whall – Well, if you do it too, at least I’d have someone with which to dine….

      Like

  5. #9 by martymankins on April 27, 2009 - 12:45 pm

    About once every 6 months, I have a Big Mac because I crave it. Then I eat it, feel like crap and vow to never eat one again.

    I normally will have an EggMcMuffin for breakfast once a month and that sits well with me. No issues there.

    Like

    • #10 by Ren on April 27, 2009 - 11:23 pm

      martymankins – Yeah, the Big Mac is evil but the EggMcMuffin is OK, just not my thing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

