Jack Reacher

JackReacherFor good or bad, I’m firmly in the set of people for whom Tom Cruise is a box office draw. I haven’t seen every movie featuring him, but I’ve seen most of them, particularly the action films. Thus, it comes as no surprise that I was drawn to Jack Reacher despite zero familiarity with the source material.

What I find most interesting about this movie is that it seems to be more directly a screen version of a modern detective novel than any other recent movie I can think of. I’m struck by a similarity to Tom Clancy’s John Clark character.

Perhaps Cruise could bring Without Remorse to the big screen. I’d watch it.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Dave2 on February 18, 2013 - 11:36 am

    The problem is for people who ARE familiar with the source material. Tom Cruise isn’t even remotely in the ballpark of the Jack Reacher character. I thought the film was pretty good, but it isn’t Jack Reacher.

    To me, Tom Cruise is a terrible actor. He plays every role the exact same way, and I can never distinguish any of his characters. It’s Maverick from Top Gun over and over again, and it’s really tiring. HOWEVER… the FILMS he somehow gets involved with are usually very interesting projects. And so I find myself seeing most everything Cruise does just because everything else in the film is great.

    Oblivion is a case in point. Yes, the trailers have once again convinced me that we’re getting post-apocalyptic “Maverick,” which I’d like to pass on. But look at everything else. It’s beautiful sci-fi. It’s based on an interesting comic book. It stars Morgan Freeman, one of my favorite actors. It’s got frickin’ Zoë Bell in it. New Orleans is a location, one of my favorite cities. The special effects look fantastic. I could go on and on. I will absolutely be seeing it, despite the fact Tom Cruise is in it. So I guess he’s a box office draw for me too, much as I wish he weren’t!

    Like

    • #2 by Ren on February 18, 2013 - 11:43 am

      I see less of Maverick and more of Ethan Hunt, which I’m totally cool with. Also, surely you don’t see much of Maverick in Charlie Babbitt or Ron Kovic? Or Stacee Jaxx?

      Like

  2. #3 by Dave2 on February 18, 2013 - 11:53 am

    Actually, it was when Cruise announced “I will only be doing serious projects” and transitioned from Top Gun to Born on the Fourth of July that it was the most obvious to me. Throughout the entire film, Cruise’s portrayal of Kovic echoed his portrayal of Maverick in just about every way… and every time he got intense, all I could see was “I AM DANGEROUS!” from Top Gun. But hey, Oblivion has a soundtrack by M83, so I’m there!

    Like

    • #4 by Ren on February 18, 2013 - 2:25 pm

      Interesting. I’m not sure whether it’s my poor memory of “Born on the Fourth of July” or my tendency to overlook such issues that caused me to not be aware of that. Short of truly wooden performances, I’m pretty forgiving. Also, it seems like truly accomplished character actors typically end up in supporting roles while starring roles go to, well, stars, who seldom seem to disappear into the character.

      Like

  3. #5 by B.E. Earl (@VerdantDude) on February 18, 2013 - 2:07 pm

    Ugh…typed a long comment and it got eaten by the internet monster. Long story short, I enjoy most every Cruise flick and I agree with Dave that it was bad casting. But I try to separate film adaptions from the source material so it doesn’t bother me that much. I’ll check it out.

    Like

    • #6 by Ren on February 18, 2013 - 2:27 pm

      I’ve taken to select all + copy on long comments, though I’ve been pretty lucky at recovering lost comments via going back in my browser lately.

      I’d also hoped that my blog’s lack of any sort of captcha or login requirement would avoid those problems. Too bad that didn’t happen here.

      Like

  4. #7 by hello haha narf on February 18, 2013 - 4:07 pm

    i’ll see it because pittsburgh stars so prominently!

    Like

    • #8 by Ren on February 18, 2013 - 6:30 pm

      In fact, I thought of you when I saw it!

      Like

  5. #9 by vahid on February 25, 2013 - 1:09 pm

    Sarah and I saw this back when it first came out and really enjoyed it. I wasn’t at all familiar with the source material, either, but as an action/detective movie I found it thoroughly entertaining. Robert Duvall as the aging Marine sniper was a nice touch.

    Like

    • #10 by Ren on February 25, 2013 - 1:16 pm

      Yes, Robert Duvall FTW!

      Like

Leave a Reply

