Hitchcock

HitchcockI really had no idea what to expect from Hitchcock. My familiarity with Alfred Hitchcock wasn’t very extensive. I’d seen several of his movies, though by no means all, and I do recall seeing episodes of his TV show when I was a kid (in repeats, of course). But my knowledge was, at best, of the pop-culture type — ’80s pop-culture.

What drew me to the movie was simply its two stars, Anthony Hopkins and Helen Mirren. I’ll confess that having Scarlett Johansson didn’t hurt — she’s one of the actresses that draws me to movies for reasons both trite and subtle.

In my MoviePass log, I marked this as “Extra” (as opposed to “Personal” or “Family”), which means that I very likely wouldn’t have seen it were it not for my MoviePass subscription. I track this so that I can see how much value I’m getting from my membership.

(Speaking of which, two months in, and with an anticipated $10 non-Extra movie on tonight’s agenda, I’ve saved $43.77 and seen an additional $36 worth of Extra movies.)

Getting back to the point, I enjoyed the movie and am glad to have seen it. My only complaint is that there wasn’t a Hitchcock-esque twist. The wink-and-a-nudge-to-the-audience was fun but didn’t quite make up for the lack of suspense. At least it didn’t commit the sin of failing to have a perfect ending that I specifically anticipated. In this case, I have no idea how the appropriate suspense could have been achieved, I just wish the writer had done so.

All-in-all, I’d say it’s worth seeing if you have any sort of affinity for the subject matter (including Psycho) or the actors.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Sarah on January 31, 2013 - 5:21 pm

    I’ve been sort of wanting to see this movie.

    I think I might when it hits the second run theaters in town.

    Like

    • #2 by Ren on January 31, 2013 - 5:34 pm

      I expect that should be pretty soon, though it wasn’t a wide release, so it might not hit.

      Like

Leave a Reply

