Mardi Gras Here We Come!

We left Austin this afternoon on our way to New Orleans for Mardi Gras weekend. More specifically, for the Endymion Parade on Saturday. This will be my fourth year to ride in this parade. As before, we will be returning home on Sunday rather than staying for Fat Tuesday — I’m sure we’ll do that one year, but I don’t know when.

We are staying in Lafayette tonight, which is just a couple of hours outside of New Orleans. This is partly to break up the trip and partly to save a little money as our hotel in New Orleans is much more expensive (as well as much nicer). A nice benefit is free wireless Internet access. I’m sure the Internet access for the rest of our trip will be far from free.

Tomorrow night is our Balcony Party. We have a reservation for a Balcony on Bourbon Street and we will be buying beads tomorrow afternoon. (We would have bought them when we were buying our float beads last month, but we weren’t sure we would have a balcony.)

Friday night is Beans and Jeans, which is a private party for the krewe. We have a lot of fun and then the Grand Marshall (Kid Rock) and the musical acts for the parade (REO Speedwagon) arrive and are introduced.

Saturday is the big day and is basically an all day (and most of the night) affair. The float ride is usually around five hours of throwing beads, starting just before dusk, but pre-parade prep actually starts around noon. The parade ends at the Superdome where we join the Extravaganza already in progress. The main acts usually don’t come on until well after midnight.

It’s. Almost. Time. To. Party!

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by kapgar on February 19, 2009 - 7:52 am

    I’ve been to New Orleans before and partied in the Quarter, but I’ve still never been to Mardi Gras. As much as I hate parties and large groups of people, I might just force myself to overcome my aversions for the purpose of attending the Gras. Funnnnnnnnn…

    Like

  2. #2 by whall on February 19, 2009 - 10:38 am

    I think I’ll find my photos of me dressed up in the Krewe attire as a prince.

    Yeah. that’ll be lovely.

    Like

  3. #3 by Faiqa on February 19, 2009 - 10:56 am

    I *love* New Orleans. I’ve never been for Mardi Gras, though. Take lots of pictures! And have fun.

    Like

  4. #4 by Giggle Pixie on February 19, 2009 - 12:17 pm

    I can’t wait to see your pictures. This sounds like such fun and I’m soooooo jealous!!

    Have a wonderful time!

    Like

  5. #5 by martymankins on February 21, 2009 - 12:57 pm

    Enjoy and keep the twitter posts coming to update us on a drink-by-drink basis.

    Like

  6. #6 by Ren on March 2, 2009 - 11:55 am

    @kapgar – I haven’t really been *in* the large crowds as we are fairly insulated from that when riding the float. I really need to actually attend one of parades some time.

    @whall – Still waiting for pics of Prince whall.

    @Faiqa – We had a blast. New Orleans is definitely a counter example to that feeling of sameness I often get when traveling.

    @Giggle Pixie – Your jealousy is appropriate — it’s an amazing time. 🙂

    @martymankins – I was so into it during the parade that I don’t think I twittered much, though I vaguely recall sending some from the after party…

    Like

  1. Mardi Gras « Renagerie

Leave a Reply

