Welcome Back

Jumping right in…

Wrist News

(see Pebble on the Wrist)
It is presumably no surprise that I replaced my Pebble with an Watch pretty much immediately. The biggest thing I miss is being able to swim with the Pebble and have it (sort of) track laps. Having given up this functionality has resulted in giving up swimming as well. This is somewhat compensated by an increase in playing racquetball. 

The other feature I miss is the sleep tracking I’d started using via the Misfit app on the Pebble. Yesterday, I installed Sleep+ to attempt to track sleep with the Watch, but my first impression is that it doesn’t do as good a job. Also, the shorter battery life presents a potential challenge. Time will tell.

Completion of Mac Journey

(see The Long way Home)

Before my long hiatus, I think I may have still had a Windows system at home that got little to no use, a Windows laptop at work, and a Linux server hosting this blog along with a few other services. Since then, the home Windows system has been retired, the Linux system has been supplanted by an old MacBook Air with a broken screen, though the services have mostly been moved to various “clouds” (such as this blog being moved to WordPress.com), and the work Windows laptop went through a couple of years of being relegated to secondary status to my old 17″ MBP (as a BYOD at work) until recently being replaced entirely by a new work-provided 15″ Retina MBP.

Appalachian Trail

My friend Travis is a couple of weeks into a planned through hike of the Appalachian Trail from Georgia to Maine. It’s over 2000 miles and will take him around five months to complete. In about a month I’ll be joining him for three days of hiking, though no camping, and expect we’ll hike almost 50 miles. I do a reasonable amount of running and walking, so I’m not overly concerned, but the first day is probably going to be a 20-miler, so I figure I ought to do some training. 

I’ve purchased some gear, including a small backpack better suited for this task than any I already had and a set of hiking poles. I’ve never used hiking poles before, so I watched a couple of YouTube videos and took them, the backpack, and a pair of trail shoes (because I definitely needed more shoes) on a trial 6-mile trail hike today. Well, yesterday by the time I post this.  

It took a few minutes for me to work out the rhythm of the poles, but after that, I really liked them, particularly for getting up and down the rocky micro-hills on this trail. I also appreciate that they moderate my typical pace. I’ll probably head back to this trail this weekend and aim for a 10-miler.

  1. #1 by martymankins on April 7, 2016 - 2:14 pm

    Welcome back indeed.

    Like

  2. #2 by martymankins on April 7, 2016 - 2:20 pm

    I meant to add more…. it posted only my first line.

    As much of an Apple fan that I am, I decided not to jump onto the Watch crowd. I still use a Fitbit Charge (not the HR model), which has it’s quirks with syncing, but tends to go a good 6 days before it needs charging. I track my sleep a couple nights a week, which appears to be pretty accurate (i’m a restless sleeper and knew that before Fitbit told me)

    Cool to hear you ended up with a Retina MBP 15″. I remember the story about the MacBook Air with the broken screen. Still kicking around.

    Like

    • #3 by renm on April 7, 2016 - 3:31 pm

      I love my Watch! Perhaps my next post will be focused on that.

      While the Air is still active, it doesn’t really get much use. It still serves as my SSH tunnel access point, but not much else.

      Like

Leave a Reply

