Django Unchained

DjangoI managed to only know the barest premise about Django Unchained before I saw it, including a complete lack of familiarity with the original Django movie. That’s always a plus for good movies. I used to make a significant effort to avoid watching previews for movies I already knew I was going to see. I’ve stopped that practice but I’ve been contemplating starting it up again.

I’m not sure what to say about Django Unchained that hasn’t already been said better by many others. (I really need to catch up so that my mini-reviews are more timely.) Yes, it’s extremely violent. Yes, it deals with uncomfortable topics in a way that mainstream movies have seemed to avoid for the last few decades. Yes, it is an amazing movie.

I honestly have no complaints about it at all. I’d see it again, though I’m not yet convinced I’d buy it.

If by some chance you haven’t seen it and are not specifically avoiding it for the reasons above, see it. Twice.

I was going to make a comparison to Kill Bill, which I didn’t really like, but now I’m thinking I should really give Kill Bill another viewing. Perhaps I was just in the wrong state of mind to enjoy it at the time.

, , ,

  1. #1 by B.E. Earl (@VerdantDude) on February 7, 2013 - 4:21 pm

    I thought the comparison to Kill Bill was a good one. Kill Bill, for me, was a more complete film(s). But mostly because I thought that Uma Thurman did an ungodly incredible job of carrying the film as the lead. Something that I don’t think Jamie Foxx did in this film. He was good, but he wasn’t nearly as good as Waltz, Leo or Sam Jackson. The charisma just wasn’t there for me.

    Another good comparison is Inglourious Basterds. A fantasy look at historical events with a stellar all-star cast.

    But yeah…give Kill Bill another try. After Pulp Fiction, it’s probably my favorite QT film. And I’m a fan of all of them.

    Like

    • #2 by Ren on February 8, 2013 - 10:39 am

      It’s not on Netflix, so I’m not sure when I’ll get around to watching it. Maybe it’ll show up at a theater sometime and I can go “for free” with my MoviePass. 🙂

      Like

  2. #3 by martymankins on February 11, 2013 - 3:01 pm

    I thought the movie was amazing as well. I am a huge Tarantino fan, but with that aside, this film worked on many levels. Yes, there were a few disturbing parts (probably the same ones for you), but it was portrayed in a way that flowed with the rest of the movie.

    Kill Bill worked for me on the first viewing. I would love to see both parts stitched together for a limited run in theaters. Maybe for the 10th anniversary next year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

