Lincoln

I recently subscribed to MoviePass, a monthly subscription to unlimited¹ movie theater admissions. For this reason, I’m likely to see more new movies than I used to, which led me to decide to post brief reviews.

I’m arbitrarily restricting this project to movies I see via MoviePass, though I reserve the right to change my mind. (I’m seeing The Hobbit on Saturday without using MoviePass, but assuming I enjoy it, I might see it again with MoviePass.) On with the review!

LincolnMarci and I saw Lincoln about a week ago. I went in without really knowing what the movie was about beyond it’s titular subject. After seeing it, I’ve come to the conclusion that this vagueness is by design. If the title had been “The 13th Amendment” or “The Means Justifies the Ends”, I’m not sure the movie would have had as much appeal.

That’s what it’s about: the struggles, manipulations, lies and extortion that went into getting slavery officially abolished from our fundamental legal document.

It’s not for everyone. I think that enjoyment of the movie is predicated on enjoyment of observing the nitty-gritty ugliness of the political machinery that shapes and reshapes the foundations of our “great experiment”.

I enjoyed every minute.

¹ Actually, there are several limits: only one admission per day, only one admission per movie, ticket must be same-day, you have to be physically at the theater to use the app to enable the purchase, the theater has to accept Discover, 3D and other enhanced viewings aren’t supported

, , ,

  1. #1 by Ben on December 13, 2012 - 2:12 pm

    OK, I’m more interested to see this now given that it’s not just about Lincoln.

    Like

  2. #2 by Sarah on December 13, 2012 - 8:44 pm

    I saw this movie with my mom and grandma when I went home last weekend. It was really good and the acting was superb.

    Like

Leave a Reply

