Midnight Movie: The Hunger Games

In an obvious lapse of parental responsibility, I took the girls to see The Hunger Games at 12:20 AM this morning. They were quite excited to go, but I asked McKenzie when I was dropping her off at school this morning if it was worth it. She replied with a very emphatic “No!” though I’m not certain she was awake for that. I envision some sort of rebuke from school after they both fall asleep in class.
Aaaanyway…
I enjoyed the movie despite some trepidation regarding the pacing choices. Really, I just wanted more time (though not at the expense of less sleep: yikes!) The story changes all seemed fairly minor to me and didn’t bother me. Without spoiling anything, I was happy with the use of external perspectives as a proxy for the book’s use of internal dialog.
At least I have the third book to read as a stopgap between now and November, 2013, which is when I heard Catching Fire is expected to be released.

  1. #1 by Sybil Law on March 23, 2012 - 10:53 am

    I’m interested to know how they’ll feel after school! I do want to see the movie, though – I’ve heard it follows the book well.
    You’re a good dad! 🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by Blondefabulous on March 23, 2012 - 1:20 pm

    I was sucked into taking Eldest to see the 12:01am showing this morning. She was ecstatic that she got to watch the movie with a theater full of teens who liked the books as much as she did, but I was just meh. The cinematography was wonderful though, dramatic & sweeping.

    Like

Leave a Reply

