Photography Killed the Photographer

I used to take a lot of photos. Also, I used to enjoy taking lots of photos. Over the last couple of years, however, I have taken very few non-travel photos. I’d like to get back into the groove, but I don’t know how. I feel that the various photography projects I did a few years ago were instrumental in the malaise I’ve experienced.

I miss it but at the same time I’m unmotivated.

,

  1. #1 by kapgar on November 30, 2011 - 8:14 pm

    I’m not entirely the same way. I am a nut for iPhonography. But I almost never carry around my D-SLR anymore except on vacations.

    Like

    • #2 by Ren on November 30, 2011 - 8:24 pm

      I just had an epiphany out driving tonight; I think I’m going to try to post a picture of a Christmas-decorated house for each day from tomorrow through Christmas. Maybe. Except that I’m traveling for part of that time. Hmm… Well, I’ll start and see what happens.

      Like

  2. #3 by Lisa on December 1, 2011 - 7:03 pm

    Hmmm. My comment didn’t post for some reason. I have been having motivational issues too. I tried to do a post every day in November thing to get my creative juices flowing, and then got interrupted by a dirty sensor. I lost focus after that.

    I think what I’m going to try is taking on one new technique a month next year. So I don’t have to post every day or even every week, I just have to play with a different technique once a month. That seems manageable, and yet still a bit of a challenge. Want to join me?

    Like

    • #4 by Ren on December 1, 2011 - 7:51 pm

      I don’t see your original comment pending anywhere, so I don’t know what happened. I’m glad you made another attempt. 🙂

      I’m intrigued by your technique idea, and monthly is about my speed, so I’ll tentatively try to play along. Lead the way!

      Like

  3. #5 by Sybil Law on December 1, 2011 - 7:14 pm

    Great idea, Ren! You take great pictures – it’d be a shame to stop.

    Like

    • #6 by Ren on December 1, 2011 - 7:55 pm

      *Blush*

      Thanks, Sybil. I don’t intend to stop, I just don’t seem to have the drive I once did. I’m thinking it’s a combination of my kids getting older and lack of a compelling camera upgrade at a price that doesn’t make me balk. Part of that is that I really like my current camera, but in the past, having a new camera has certainly helped with motivation.

      On that note, if Canon were to come out with a nice upgrade to the 7D, I’d be pretty tempted.

      Like

  4. #7 by Megan on December 1, 2011 - 7:15 pm

    I was reading about getting motivated by simply looking at things, not with a camera or intent to take a picture, but to start just looking at things more closely.

    I also want to know what kinds of techniques Lisa’s going to be playing with!

    Like

    • #8 by Ren on December 1, 2011 - 7:57 pm

      That reminds me of watching golf making me want to play golf (something else I’ve lost motivation for — haven’t played in two years).

      There’s the outside possibility that I simply watch too much TV….

      Like

  5. #9 by Dave2 on December 1, 2011 - 9:44 pm

    I’ve never drag my DSLR with me anymore unless I’m on vacation or going somewhere to specifically take photos.

    Oddly enough, however, I’m more into photography than ever thanks to my iPhone. Specifically, I’m more into photography than ever thanks to my iPhone AND the Pro HDR app. It’s always with me and I’m always taking photos with it. Almost daily. On a trip to the grocery store tonight, I took a half-dozen shots!

    Like

    • #10 by Lisa on December 1, 2011 - 11:29 pm

      I use my iPhone and the Pro HDR app a lot, thanks to your recommendation. I really love it.

      Like

    • #11 by Ren on December 2, 2011 - 1:08 pm

      Almost 40 months with an iPhone — including the last 17 with an iPhone 4 — and I have 707 images in my Camera Roll (some of which are screen shots or other saved images).

      I use it when something strikes me or when I want to capture some information for later, but I don’t reach for it as easily as some. Also, I often have my compact ultrazoom nearby, but I still seldom think to take a picture without premeditation.

      It’s difficult for me to imagine that the Pro HDR app would motivate me. Do you think it would? I’ve bought apps based almost exclusively on your recommendation before, so I might just do so again here.

      Like

  6. #12 by Kevin Spencer on December 2, 2011 - 11:41 am

    I don’t take my DSLR out much as I should. I’m looking forward to your Christmas shots.

    Like

  1. Christmas Lights Day 1 « Renagerie

Leave a Reply

