RAW

Here is an example of why I shoot RAW:

Post-processed

Out of the camera


The amount of detail available in the blown-out sky is only possible because I shot in RAW. For those interested, the post-processing applied, in Aperture, was:

Exposure -0.3
Black Point 3
Highlights 100
Shadows 17.59

The slight glow around the dome of the building doesn’t bother me enough to do anything about it. Oh, there was also a bit of chromatic aberration around the dome that I removed.

, ,

  1. #1 by hello haha narf on August 15, 2011 - 9:38 am

    i really need a big girl camera. and to know what RAW actually means.

    Like

  2. #2 by hello haha narf on August 15, 2011 - 9:39 am

    p.s. COOL PIC!

    Like

  3. #4 by Megan on August 15, 2011 - 10:20 am

    Excellent example of how RAW can make a big difference!

    Like

  4. #5 by Dave2 on August 15, 2011 - 11:16 am

    I waffle between going RAW and bracketing in JPEG. While RAW does offer some pretty amazing post-camera magic, I’ve gotten even better shots by selectively blending 2-3 brackets in JPEG. But that’s a lot more work, so I go back to RAW the next time I shoot. Then I’ll switch back to JPEGs the time after because I wanted the flexibility of different exposures. 🙂

    My next step? Bracketing with RAW!

    Like

    • #6 by Ren on August 15, 2011 - 11:34 am

      I use bracketing (still with RAW) when I know the exposure is challenging (and think about it) and, in particular, when I anticipate using the photo before I get a chance to process it.

      I wish I could tell the camera to auto-fire three shots when bracketing is enabled. Of course, if my camera had your’s Active D-lighting, I might be satisfied enough with that to not need these other methods.

      Like

  5. #7 by Sarah on August 15, 2011 - 10:12 pm

    I have no idea what you said. It was all technical and I just kind of point my camera and hope for the best.

    But I like your photo!

    Like

    • #8 by Ren on August 16, 2011 - 11:17 am

      Thanks, Sarah!

      Like

  6. #9 by Lisa on August 24, 2011 - 10:25 am

    I always shoot in RAW now. It’s a little more work because you can’t just upload, butt his kind of flexibility makes it worth it. I love it. Great photo!

    Like

    • #10 by Ren on August 25, 2011 - 8:56 am

      I’ve toyed with RAW+JPG so that I can more easily do some quick uploads, but it creates extra management hassles. Plus, getting a JPG from the RAW has turned out to be a non-issue most of the time. The only time I still run into a problem is when I’m with someone else that wants the pictures straight from the camera and doesn’t handle RAW.

      Like

Leave a Reply

