A Friend, A Shirt and A Slice

I was recently afforded an opportunity, during a long layover in Chicago, to head downtown and meet, for the first time, @kapgar. It’s difficult to believe that we hadn’t already met, but I’m glad we finally did.
20110718-103437.jpg
Once we were together, our first order of business was a visit to the Rock Shock at the Hard Rock Cafe so I could add another shirt to my growing Hard Rock collection. Afterward, we wandered the Miracle Mile for a bit, making stops at the Apple and Lego stores.
20110718-103455.jpg
Eventually, it was time for some sustenance and we happened to find ourselves a block away from one (well, two) of my favorite Chicago restaurants: Pizzeria Uno and Pizzeria Due. Yum!
20110718-103505.jpg
It was a short meeting, but a good one. I look forward to another visit someday.
Totally Unrelated AsideA post about meeting Kevin wouldn’t be complete without a TUA, which makes this one not completely unrelated. Furthermore, the topic is the loading of the images included above, so I suppose this is really a TRA. Oh, well. On the flight from Chicago I decided to test whether it was possible to load pictures from the iPhone to the iPad using the Camera Connection Kit. I’m delighted to report that it worked beautifully, allowing me to include those images even though I don’t currently have any data access on my iPhone.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Geekytaitai on July 18, 2011 - 5:33 am

    I am so jealous! One of these days I’ll get back to Chicago and meet up with Kapgar! We lived in Chicago for four years. Earlier this summer our sons drove up to scope out where we lived when they were born. They had a blast clubbing and eating the best pizza in the world!

    Like

  2. #2 by kilax on July 18, 2011 - 7:19 am

    Happy you two had fun! I hope you didn’t melt too much in the heat yesterday. Enjoy Dublin!

    Like

  3. #3 by hello haha narf on July 18, 2011 - 7:55 am

    hate when meeting good people goes all too quickly, but i am still happy that you both got to enjoy some time together.
    i swear kapgar is wearing a pittsburgh pirates hat. my heart is happy all over again!

    Like

  4. #4 by Sybil Law on July 18, 2011 - 10:10 am

    Jealous – on both counts!!

    Like

  5. #5 by kapgar on July 18, 2011 - 1:12 pm

    Yes, be jealous! All of you (except Kim whom I’ve met several times)! Our awesomeness individually is a thing of shock and awe. Combine us and there is NO EQUAL!!

    Okay, enough grandstanding. Meeting up with you was really cool, Ren. I had fun and do wish it was longer. And the thing I’m really happy about was that it wasn’t as hot when we were hanging out as it was when I went to Pitchfork later on.

    BTW, I’m stealing that photo of us for my own post. It’s only fair since I gave you permission to use my old TUA graphic, right?

    TUA (or TRA) to Hello Haha Narf, yes, that’s my fave Bucs hat. It started jet black. Constant wear through the last decade has left it a nice shade of gray.

    Like

  6. #6 by Dave2 on July 18, 2011 - 4:39 pm

    Kapgar is just plain fun to hang out with. I’m always happy when we can meet up in Chicago, and glad you finally got to meet him too! Now if only all of us could meet up together…

    Like

  7. #7 by martymankins on July 19, 2011 - 5:08 pm

    I cannot wait to meet up with Kapgar someday. Those tease tweets from the LEGO store were painful to read (wishing I was there).

    Having hung out with you before (twice in 2009: Avitaween Orlando and TequilaCon in NM), I can vouch for Kevin.

    Like

Leave a Reply

