50 miles!

As of today’s swim, I have now swum 50 miles (50.77, actually) since I started with the Master Swim program at the beginning of August.

I really need to enter some triathlons next year. I did a few mini-triathlons a few years ago, but have only really done biking events for the last few years. Of course, I’ll need to get more serious about my running if I plan to do more triathlons.

Speaking of biking, Marci and I did the Wurst Ride this past weekend:

For this ride, we usually have my parents bring our kids down to Wurst Fest after the ride and get a ride back to the start with them. This year, however, we had other plans for the evening so we needed an alternate way back to the truck. I eventually realized that the short portion of the ride that we were doing was short enough that riding back to the truck was only a small stretch for me and I decided to do it. Marci rode back part of the way and I picked her up at the last/first rest stop. It worked out well.

I did another ride back at the beginning of October with Travis and his son:

Now it’s becoming winter, so nothing more ’til spring, probably.

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Iron Fist on November 12, 2010 - 11:55 am

    I should like to hear a bit more about this Masters Swim program and your experiences with it. (If you already wrote about it in a previous post, I either missed it or have forgotten about it since I suck.) I used to swim competitively in high school and have done a lot of swimming to keep in shape since then, but never done any events.

    Like

    • #2 by Ren on November 12, 2010 - 3:09 pm

      I haven’t written about it and it’s a good idea for a post. Or, it would be if I had anything useful to share about it. I’ll see what I can do.

      Like

  2. #3 by Sybil Law on November 12, 2010 - 12:07 pm

    Wow! That is impressive!
    Now I extra suck because I do nothing.

    Like

    • #4 by Ren on November 12, 2010 - 3:11 pm

      With a Wonder Woman high kick like yours, you don’t need to do anything else. Or, that’s what pictures have led me to believe. 🙂

      Like

  3. #5 by Lisa on November 12, 2010 - 1:23 pm

    I would love to hear about the master swim program too! Swimming is my triathlon weak spot and I need to tune it up. We’re really limited here as far as swimming programs go, so I’m kind of at a loss where to start.

    Like

    • #6 by Ren on November 12, 2010 - 3:25 pm

      I’ve thought about it a bit more since I replied to Vahid and I think I can manage to put a post together on it. Some of it will only be relevant locally, though.

      Like

  4. #7 by kilax on November 13, 2010 - 8:58 am

    Ditto to what Iron Fist said! I remember nothing about swimming and would love a refresher!

    I would also love to hear about tri training if you sign up.

    Like

    • #8 by Ren on November 19, 2010 - 9:57 pm

      Well, I don’t expect I’ll do any tri-specific training other than to get back into some regular running. The tris I’ve done in the past are the mini-tris that usually have a 1/2 mile swim, a 12-20 mile bike ride and a 5K run. I wouldn’t mind working up to double that, but I’m not sure I’m all that interested in more. 🙂

      Like

  5. #9 by Dave2 on November 13, 2010 - 8:02 pm

    “Master Swim” sounds like an exercise program for Aquaman! Rock on!

    Like

    • #10 by Ren on November 19, 2010 - 9:59 pm

      Well, I’m actually in the “Fun & FItness” sub-division of the Master Swim program. So more like Aquaboy. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

