Biking: LBJ 100 + Solo

Last Saturday my wife, a friend and I participated in our first organized ride of the year, the LBJ 100. We did the 30 mile route as we haven’t trained yet this year but felt we could manage that distance. It was a very leisurely ride — my average speed was 12.3 mph, but I took some long breaks as well pushing the total time over three hours.

[iframe http://connect.garmin.com/activity/embed/28191672 465 548]

Yesterday, I had some spare time after work before picking up the girls from gymnastics so I decided I could squeeze in a quick 90-minute ride. I pushed much harder than on the organized ride and got my average speed up to 14.6 mph with only a few minutes of waiting at lights. There was a pretty strong wind which I first rode into and then had at my back (getting my top speed up to 34.3 mph on a slight downhill).

[iframe http://connect.garmin.com/activity/embed/28536086 465 548]

I’m hoping to do another practice ride tomorrow morning, but it looks like the weather may have other plans.

,

  1. #1 by Kevin Spencer on April 2, 2010 - 11:49 am

    This week I know exactly how it feels to try and get back into something. I did my first morning run on Wednesday and then another one this morning. I only took a month off but the way my legs are aching it feels much longer. This must be what that whole “getting older” thing is all about 😉
    .-= Kevin Spencer´s last blog ..Sedona Recommendation: Red Rock Jeep Tour =-.

    Like

    • #2 by Ren on April 2, 2010 - 2:26 pm

      Kevin Spencer – Yeah, I did a few runs recently and the second was much more difficult than the first. I’m not sure about this “getting older” thing of which you speak. It sounds like an old wives’ tale. 😉

      Like

  2. #3 by martymankins on April 2, 2010 - 4:55 pm

    Reading this post encourages me to get back on my bike again. Back in the early to mid 90’s, I used to ride at least 150 miles a week.

    Now to act on this encouragement.
    .-= martymankins´s last blog ..No Foolin’ – I’m 2 Today =-.

    Like

    • #4 by Ren on April 2, 2010 - 5:23 pm

      martymankins – Glad to be an encouragement. We did a ride this morning; I did 25 miles.

      Like

      • #5 by martymankins on April 15, 2010 - 7:04 pm

        I’ll be riding my bike for the first time this season over the weekend in Moab, UT. I know I’ll be sore, but it should be a ton of fun. And it’s a good time to kick start my bike riding this year.
        .-= martymankins´s last blog ..Snowy Sunday #23 =-.

        Like

Leave a Reply

