Spring Break Skiing: Taos

We drove to Taos for skiing last week and had a great time. Here are some photo highlights:

These and more pictures can be seen on my album page. I’ve also got a couple of videos, but I’ll save those for tomorrow.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Finn on March 25, 2010 - 8:08 am

    How beautiful!

    Great pictures; looks like a good time. You had beautiful weather.

    Like

    • #2 by Ren on March 25, 2010 - 8:46 am

      Finn – We had a great time. Discounting the increased enjoyment we would have had with additional travel companions, I would say it was our second best ski trip. Second to our previous trip, two years ago, though I guess I have to also discount Marci’s injury (which was worse than I thought at the time) on that trip for it to really be our best. I now see that I didn’t include any pictures in those posts and I realize that it was because of the limited Internet access we had at the time. There were certainly pictures. 🙂

      I should probably have a better system than using comments as auxiliary blogging space. Oh, well.

      Like

  2. #3 by martymankins on March 25, 2010 - 10:13 am

    Awesome photos. Taos has some nice skiing runs.
    .-= martymankins´s last blog ..Happy Birthday, Dave =-.

    Like

    • #4 by Ren on March 25, 2010 - 12:18 pm

      martymankins – Thanks and yes, definitely some nice runs. It also has one of my favorite ski area features — a separate side of the mountain accessible from the top.

      Like

  3. #5 by Kevin Spencer on March 25, 2010 - 1:17 pm

    Love those photos. I’ve never been skiing in my life. When I lived in Italy, a ski resort was about a 10 minute drive away and I *still* didn’t go. I’d love to go but at this point I’m thinking it’s probably not going to happen 😉
    .-= Kevin Spencer´s last blog ..Sharing Is Caring =-.

    Like

    • #6 by Ren on March 25, 2010 - 7:00 pm

      Kevin Spencer – I love skiing. We even went skiing in Italy one time. The most memorable part was that it was -40 at the top of the mountain and you could ski down to Switzerland.

      I’m not sure it’s ever to late to give skiing a try. Snowboarding, perhaps, but not skiing.

      Like

  4. #7 by clint on March 25, 2010 - 6:05 pm

    Taos, and northern New Mexico is my favorite place in the world. There is no other place like it.

    Like

    • #8 by Ren on March 25, 2010 - 7:03 pm

      clint- It is very nice. We didn’t spend much time in Taos proper, but we spent some time in Santa Fe on our way and I was also in Santa Fe for last year’s TequilaCon. Loved it.

      Like

  5. #9 by Iron Fist on March 26, 2010 - 12:57 am

    Taos was a really cool town, I wish we could have spent more than just a single day there. Those ski runs look incredible. Any chance you got to see the Rio Grande Gorge Bridge just outside of town?

    Like

    • #10 by Ren on March 26, 2010 - 6:13 am

      Iron Fist – I completely forgot about the bridge! We should’ve allocated some time for that.

      Like

  6. #11 by Iron Fist on March 26, 2010 - 12:58 am

    Oh! And more importantly, did you have any green chile stew while you were there? 🙂

    Like

    • #12 by Ren on March 26, 2010 - 6:16 am

      Iron Fist – Somehow, I didn’t. We were across from The Pink Adobe at one point and I thought we might stop in there, but we didn’t. It was on a couple of other menus but somehow I kept getting something else. We had a full kitchen in our room, so we ate there most of the time.

      Like

  7. #13 by Karl on March 29, 2010 - 9:43 am

    Gorgeous shots. Never been skiing myself. I kinda like my bones where they are.
    .-= Karl´s last blog ..If I Had a Time Machine, It Would Not Involve a Hot Tub =-.

    Like

    • #14 by Ren on March 29, 2010 - 10:16 am

      Karl – 🙂 Actually, I think knee injuries are the biggest risk in downhill skiing. But the risks aren’t nearly as high as people tend to think. I did a bit of research and found that the risk of injury is about 0.5% per day. Contrast that with the fatality rate of automobile travel at about 0.7% per 100 miles. (The per day fatality rate for skiing is less than .0001%.)

      Still, the odds of you being injured are completely different. 😀

      Like

  8. #15 by Karl on March 29, 2010 - 5:38 pm

    Well said, sir.
    .-= Karl´s last blog ..If I Had a Time Machine, It Would Not Involve a Hot Tub =-.

    Like

Leave a Reply

