Turbo Answers Via Google Suggestions

At this point it’s pretty much become cliché to seek answers to questions via Google. In fact, it’s gotten to the point that I’ve heard (and repeated) the phrase, “if only there were a way” (in response to some out-loud wondering over a piece of information) more times than I can count.

More recently, however, I’ve noticed that for many questions I don’t even have to actually excute the Google search. It’s enough to simply look Google’s search suggestions to find the answer. Now I even make a bit of a game of it wondering how few characters I can type before I get the suggestion that provides the information I want.

Here are some examples I’ve used recently:

How do I spell the name of the actress that played Bob Nehart’s wife in The Bob Nehart Show?

OK, so I had to type quite a bit for that one, but at least it fixed my spelling error.

What’s the name of that girl from that movie? Dang it, I can’t remember either! Oh, she’s in that Cisco commercial…

“cisco com” is pretty good, though the answer is several hits down.

What’s that new Matt Damon movie coming out soon? “Green Mile”? No, that’s not it… “Green” something…

Nice! First hit with only two letters.

I’ve used this feature for “the question” for years, but I seem to be using for “the answer” more and more of late. Maybe they should make a commercial of this…

(I had to switch to the google page because I had already done that search to find the actual video and this altered the suggestions such that even typing just “g” gave “google superbowl ad” as the first hit.)

Of course, the ad isn’t really the same thing as it’s still about the questions rather than the answers. It’s still really good if you haven’t seen it, so here you go:

  1. #1 by Sybil Law on March 4, 2010 - 8:14 pm

    I google anything and everything that pops into my little head. I use their suggestions about, half or maybe more – of the time. Some of them are hysterical.

    Like

    • #2 by Ren on March 5, 2010 - 6:16 pm

      Sybil Law – Maybe there’s a comedy routine in there somewhere?

      Like

  2. #3 by whall on March 5, 2010 - 12:31 pm

    Soon, the iphone will auto-record and auto-transcribe all the time, 24×7, so that all you have to do is talk and it will display relevant context-sensitive things having to do with the discussion so you can just point and touch on whatever is most relevant to you.

    It will also help with arguments. “You said you were going to take out the trash yesterday!” “No, I said…” and play back the snippet where it said “I could take out the trash.” “See? I said I *could* take out the trash. Don’t you ever listen?!?!?”

    Also, you could then get daily transcriptions emailed to you for all your conversations, tagged by person, quantized by word, sentence, and paragraph. This would help for keeping people to their promises, or catching them in lies.

    You could graph trends of how many times you said “you know,” and “like”. You could be reminded of the promises you made.

    You could then subscribe to a service that does analysis of both the audio and text of all your conversations and tell you which people are more likely to be there when you need them and which are apt to stab you in the back. It might also suggest other friends that communicate more closely to the way you do, and give you alerts when meeting new people, if they’re likely to have a conflict.

    In real-time, a surgically implanted earpiece could stream suggestions to you for topics, tone, answers, and help keep you level-headed as you go through your day. For debates or arguments, you would have the benefit of AI helping you be able to answer any question, bring up suitable counterpoints and subtle reminders of what would be most effective, verbally, to use with/against the person you’re talking to.

    In fact, I wouldn’t be surprised if our top world leaders didn’t already have all of this available to them, and they work hard at making sure it’s not noticeable.
    .-= whall´s last blog ..Incentive, part 1 =-.

    Like

    • #4 by Ren on March 5, 2010 - 6:17 pm

      whall – Nice cover, you stinkin’ AI!!

      Like

  3. #5 by kilax on March 5, 2010 - 4:51 pm

    When I was in Iowa, my grandma was saying how something kept getting filled out on the computer even though it wasn’t supposed to. We couldn’t figure out what the hell she was talking about, so showed us – it was this 😉 Poor grandma didn’t get it! I think my dad explained it to her though.
    .-= kilax´s last blog ..What makes a good trainer? =-.

    Like

    • #6 by Ren on March 5, 2010 - 6:17 pm

      kilax – It wasn’t the auto-form filling feature?

      Like

      • #7 by kilax on March 5, 2010 - 10:04 pm

        Good point. Are they not the same thing? Ha! Maybe I am the one who knows nothing about Google/the internet!
        .-= kilax´s last blog ..What makes a good trainer? =-.

        Like

  4. #8 by Poppy on March 5, 2010 - 7:59 pm

    I adore that commercial. Very bittersweet for me.
    .-= Poppy´s last blog ..10 minutes, 21 seconds =-.

    Like

  5. #10 by Avitable on March 5, 2010 - 10:31 pm

    That commercial is awesome. And it’s eerie how all of us think alike when we search to the point that Google knows what to suggest.
    .-= Avitable´s last blog ..The Jabberwock =-.

    Like

  6. #11 by Ren on March 5, 2010 - 10:53 pm

  7. #12 by Coal Miner's Granddaughter on March 9, 2010 - 8:55 am

    It’s gotten so that I don’t even use an online dictionary for misspelled words. I just start typing in my Google search box and it fixes my mistake for me. Awesome!

    Like

    • #13 by Ren on March 9, 2010 - 9:59 am

      Coal Miner’s Granddaughter – I do that as well although I occasionally find that some words are so commonly misspelled that the misspelling can even be a suggestion from Google.

      Like

Leave a Reply

