Date Night Movie Reviews

Do to some scheduling changes, Marci and I have suddenly ended up with a free night once a week. This week, I suggested we go see a movie and she upped the ante to a double feature. We saw The Blind Side and The Book of Eli.

The Blind Side

I had completely forgotten that Marci saw this while I was in Vegas. I guess she wanted to see it again, so it’s all good. Given how long this has been out, I’m just going to briefly describe what surprised me.

First, I was never able to reconcile Sanda Bullock’s voice in the movie with her voice in my memory. I found this odd, but it didn’t detract from the movie. In fact, it may have allowed me to better separate actress from character.

Second, I thought the actor playing the younger son stole pretty much every scene he was in. I expect there’s nothing original about this thought, but I hadn’t heard anything about him before seeing the movie. As wonderful as Bullock did, I’m surprised this young actor was more lauded for his performance.

Finally, I honestly had expected more drama. The movie was lighter than I exepcted it to be. This isn’t a complaint as I’m perfectly satisfied with what I got, it just wasn’t quite what I had anticipated. All told, it was a very enjoyable movie, and while it doesn’t jump onto my purchase list, I certainly wouldn’t mind seeing it again.

The Book of Eli

While I had seen enough previous to have a vague idea of this movie, I really didn’t have a good grasp of what to expect beyond a kick-ass Denzel Washington in some sort of post-apocolyptic world. With a book. And it was.

I thought the movie got off to a bit of a slow start, though that feeling was enhanced by the fact that I had chosen the movie and wasn’t certain how interested Marci really was. However, once it got moving I was never again bothered by the pacing.

Fair warning, it’s a violent movie, well deserving of its R rating. I don’t want to give anything away, so I’ll just say that I enjoyed the ride of the movie and then the ending stepped things up enough that I definitely want to see this one again. I haven’t decided yet if I want to own it, as I’m not sure I’ll really want more than a second viewing. I suppose the second viewing will be the true test.

Totally Unrelated Aside(with thanks to kapgar for TUA) I want an iPad and I can’t even really articulate why. Hmm, that’s not quite right. I want one because it looks sleek and fast for what it does and a starting price of $500 is low enough to be tempting (despite the fact that I’ll end up with a more expensive model). What I have yet to determine is when and where I would actually use it. It’s not going to be on my person like my iPhone, so I can’t just use it whenever I have a some time to waste. And if I’m lounging at home, I’m more likely to use my laptop so that I can multitask. (I have Aperture and Quicken running most of the time that I’m doing something else.) Oh well, time will tell. By the time the 3G version is available, something else may have… Squirrel!

, ,

  1. #1 by Sybil Law on January 29, 2010 - 4:17 pm

    Exactly!
    Squirrel!
    Haha
    ๐Ÿ™‚

    Like

    • #2 by Ren on January 29, 2010 - 10:26 pm

      Sybil Law – I’m going to be using that for years. But sparingly. Well, sparingly from my perspective; others may have a different opinion.

      Like

  2. #3 by Kevin Spencer on January 29, 2010 - 4:29 pm

    While I’m not in the market for an iPad, I think it is interesting for those that are. I’ll be keeping an eye on where Apple go with this. iPad 2.0 might be something exciting.

    The $500 was an appealing intro price until I realized that if I was going to get one, I’d want 3G so that’s, what, now $629 for the base model right? Now it’s getting even harder to justify that third device ๐Ÿ˜‰
    .-= Kevin Spencer´s last blog ..So What’s In A Name? =-.

    Like

    • #4 by Ren on January 29, 2010 - 10:24 pm

      Kevin Spencer – Also, I can tell you that based on my 16GB iPhone, there’s simply no way that 16GB is enough for me on the iPad. And once I’m at $729 for the 32GB, taking the final step to $829 for the 64GB is inevitable. Ugh. Maybe I should start bringing my lunch. At just $5/day, that should just about cover the difference between the low end and the high end model by the time the 3G versions arrive.

      Who am I kidding? As much as I want the iPad, I want to go out for lunch more. Live to Eat!

      Like

  3. #5 by Avitable on January 29, 2010 - 9:08 pm

    I enjoyed The Blind Side and want to go see The Book of Eli this weekend hopefully.
    .-= Avitable´s last blog ..My Interviews with Zelda Rubinstein and J. D. Salinger =-.

    Like

    • #6 by Ren on January 29, 2010 - 10:25 pm

      Avitable – I look forward to reading your review of it. It’s certainly not a perfect movie. I want to say that I think you’ll enjoy it, but I don’t think I’ve quite gotten a handle on your movie tastes yet, so I’m not sure.

      Like

  4. #7 by kapgar on January 29, 2010 - 11:03 pm

    Soon TUA will take over the world!!!

    Like

    • #8 by Ren on January 29, 2010 - 11:39 pm

      kapgar – Yes!

      Like

  5. #9 by martymankins on January 30, 2010 - 11:55 am

    I’ve not seen either of those movies (still trying to see some films that will most likely be Oscar contenders), but of the two, The Blind Side looks like one I would enjoy. Sandra is getting quite the accolades for her role and I’m curious to see how a mostly comedic actress does is a serious role. I liked her in 28 Days, which was a semi-serious role for her, so I have high hopes for this movie.

    As for the iPad, I want one and will most likely end up with the 64gb WiFi-only version. While the ability to get the 3G model and have broadband service without a contract is tempting, I think most of my intended use will be closer to places with WiFi.
    .-= martymankins´s last blog ..Fictionally Speaking =-.

    Like

Leave a Reply

