Flashback Friday: Action, No Action

Because I’m having trouble coming up with a topic, and in honor of the fact that we’re doing the Wurst Ride again tomorrow (third year in a row!), here’s my post from after the ride last year. Again this year we’ve been pretty bad about training for it, though at least we managed a ride last weekend. Marci in particular hasn’t been riding much, so she’s going to do the 42K route again this year, though she’s not accompanying anyone and so is likely going to wait for us to get to her starting point.


As I mentioned previously, this weekend I participated in the Wurst Ride, a 100 kilometer bike ride from Austin to Wurst Fest in New Braunfels. I did this ride last year as well, and I must say that it was more difficult this year. I attribute this primarily to the fact that I hadn’t ridden at all since the Outlaw Trail three weeks prior, though I think the wind may have been less favorable this year as well.

Marci was originally going to do the full 100K with us (as she did last year, which may be her longest ride), but a friend of ours decided to join us for her first bike ride so Marci did the 42K route with her instead. After the ride, my mother brought our kids down and we hung out at Wurst Fest for several hours, including spending some time with some friends that we hadn’t seen in quite some time. Lots of food, lots of people, lots of fun.

Not surprisingly, our Sunday was spent sleeping and veg’ing in front of the TV. I really need to make a better effort of at least kicking my kids outside for a while even if I’m not joining them. The weather was so nice this weekend that I’m now feeling guilty that we didn’t take advantage of it better on Sunday.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Kevin Spencer on November 6, 2009 - 2:59 pm

    Ha. Don’t feel bad about not training. I’m supposed to be running a half marathon in January and do you think I’ve started training for it yet? Er, that would be a no 😉
    .-= Kevin Spencer´s last blog ..Those Kats =-.

    Like

    • #2 by Ren on November 9, 2009 - 10:39 am

      Kevin Spencer – I was a little worried about the distance as I took a 4 or 5 mile shortcut in the 100K a few weeks earlier and had only done one additional 45-mile ride in the interim. Plus, the last 10 miles of that 45-mile ride were pretty rough for me.

      I did struggle a bit around 40 miles into this ride, but the Advil I took at mile 36 kicked in and I was good for the rest of the ride. It’s a good route and great to have sausage and beer at the end, followed by Wurst Fest (Oktoberfest).

      Like

Leave a Reply

