Golf, anyone?

A few years ago, I took the plunge and purchased a (weekday-only) membership at the golf course near my house. I had been considering it for several years and then they offered a special, low-initiation deal. Effectively, it cost about the same as it would to play once a week at any of the slightly cheaper courses in the area, plus, any guests playing with me got a slight discount such that the cost of their round would be comparable to the other courses as well. And, of course, I could stop in and play 9 holes after work for free. (Or late afternoons on weekends, which was included in the weekday membership.)

Nice theory. In practice it didn’t really work out. It wasn’t too bad in the summer, though I rarely did better than break even for any given month. And even though it’s possible to play golf year-round in Texas, the early morning golf that I typically play isn’t very pleasant during the winter. And, of course, it does rain on occasion. Really, the only thing that kept me going with the membership was the fact that without it we would really have to play a differnt course, which would be much less convenient.

Well, for various reasons I didn’t even play once last month. I did play yesterday, but I just didn’t feel it. I decided to cancel my membership, so I turned in my 30-day notice before leaving the course. I think that’s probably going to turn out to be pretty good timing as winter approaches. Plus, even though it’s a nice course, and plenty challenging, I’m kind of tired of playing the same course more than 90% of the time.

To be clear, I still intend to try to play golf at least once a week, even though my game has really fallen apart over the last few years. And, if history is any indication, playing at other courses has a very good chance of allowing my game to return to its previous glory — or at least rise from the depths in which it has floundered lately.

Now I just need to try to get some good use out of my last month of membership. Anybody wanna play some golf?!

, ,

  1. #1 by Sybil Law on October 2, 2009 - 5:21 pm

    I’ve never gotten into golf, but I LOVE going to the driving range. Golf is HARD! Going to the range, having some beers and not trying to be accurate is a great tension release for me.
    I’d totally go with you. Too bad I am in Ohio. Talk about some crappy winters! (Although, years ago, I played an indoor virtual course with some golf pro buddies of mine, and hit a ball so hard I ripped the screen! )

    Like

    • #2 by Ren on October 14, 2009 - 11:13 am

      Sybil Law – Interesting that you like the driving range — I hate it.

      Like

  2. #3 by Ben on October 2, 2009 - 6:06 pm

    Wow, you too? So, where do you want to start playing? Isabella is still getting up a lot at night, so not sure when I’ll be able to start again, but this can’t go on forever (I hope).

    Like

    • #4 by Ren on October 14, 2009 - 11:14 am

      Ben – At this point, I’m thinking that by the time my final month is over, it will be time for our winter break. Though I could see going out on some weekends.

      Like

  3. #5 by BlondeBlogger on October 3, 2009 - 12:29 am

    If you’re talking Putt-Putt, then count me in! 😉

    Like

    • #6 by Ren on October 14, 2009 - 11:15 am

      BlondeBlogger – The only Putt-Putt I’ve played in recent years has been with my daughters and they seem to treat it like it’s a race. Maybe I need to start wagering with them to get them to focus on accuracy rather than speed….

      Like

  4. #7 by Toben on October 6, 2009 - 10:08 am

    I was wondering when you would be cancelling based on the reduced play, so I’m glad you made the decision now. We can start playing daily until it expires…you in? 😉

    Like

    • #8 by Ren on October 14, 2009 - 11:18 am

      Toben – Um, no. We’ll be doing good to manage weekly. Do you realize that we played zero rounds in September? Oh wait, if you read the post, then I guess you do realize that. Well, we’re just about half way through October and it looks like you’re the only one likely to join me for tomorrow’s round — assuming the weather cooperates — which would only be the second round of the month.

      Like

Leave a Reply

