Santa Fe Trip: Day 1 – Driving to Lubbock

ren-and-wayne-in-the-carwayne-yawnsI had thought we were going to try to get out of town early in the afternoon, but apparently the fact that I didn’t really commit to it led to Wayne scheduling some other activities. Thus, our departure time was delayed until 5:30 PM (at the earliest). In truth, with a stop at Target to get Wayne some sandals, we really didn’t get going until well after 6 PM.

Thankfully, Wayne likes to drive, so he drove the entire time today. I’m not sure if I’ll be driving tomorrow or if he will continue. Despite the yawn, he drove at least five more ours.

storms-burgersWe stopped in Lampasas for a quick dinner at Storm’s Drive-In, Inc. I like little places that I’ve never heard of, but this was just meh. We both had the (chicken-fried) steak sandwiches and we shared some fries. Very similar to Sonic, though the fries were quite different. Anyway, much driving later, we had the following Twitter exchange:

whall: What the heck are these synchronized red blinking lights all along the horizon in Sweetwater, TX? Like 270deg horizon
renagerie: @whall windmills, obviously. Couldn’t you just have asked me since we’re in the same car?

OK, I’ll admit that it too some time for me to figure it out, and I really wasn’t certain until we got close enough to see some blades passing near the lights (it was too dark to see much). Also, I’ve driven this route before, so I was at least aware of there being wind farms in the area.
short-bedWhen we finally got to Lubbock (our halfway point), we had a bit of trouble getting a room. The place I had originally chosen, but not reserved, ended up only have a smoking room available, and we didn’t want that. I called around to several other places nearby, but most of them had no rooms available. We eventually ended up at the Motel 6, where we had to pay $3 for WiFi (an oddly low, yet non-free price) and the beds are a bit too short (as shown in this image).

I should’ve gone to sleep at least an hour ago — I keep drifting off trying to finish this post. I tried to fix all of the resulting typos, but I may have missed some. I’d better get to sleep in case Wayne wants me to drive tomorrow (he’s been asleep for a while now).

Can’t wait for TequilaCon, but first, BeerHer tomorrow night!

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by shiny on April 24, 2009 - 7:39 am

    I find the $3 WiFi most fascinating. But it poses a question: yes, I’d much rather have my WiFi included for free in a lodging situation. And I certainly wouldn’t pay the exorbitant $10 a day that many of the higher-end chains charge. But $3? I think I could see myself doing that. Perhaps this will be a pre-cursor to an industry standard?

    Drive safely, guys!

    Like

    • #2 by Ren on April 24, 2009 - 3:22 pm

      shiny – Yes, $3 is a good price point for 24 hours of wireless. It was only for one computer naturally, so Wayne had to compose his post on my Mac. 🙂

      Like

  2. #3 by hello haha narf on April 24, 2009 - 9:53 am

    how cute are you two, sharing fries like a real couple. teehee.

    as i mentioned over at whall’s place, i’m so sad i won’t get to meet you guys. boooo for me not going. bad, bad becky!

    Like

    • #4 by Ren on April 24, 2009 - 3:29 pm

      hello haha narf – Yes, shame on you for not joining us! 😉

      And sharing food with Wayne is more of a competition than cute.

      Like

  3. #5 by Dave2 on April 24, 2009 - 10:54 am

    Motel 6 FTW! Tom Bodett always leaves that light on for you.

    Like

    • #6 by Ren on April 24, 2009 - 8:51 pm

      Dave2 – It worked out very nice, yes. Thanks, Tom!

      Like

  4. #7 by Ben on April 24, 2009 - 12:51 pm

    Cool trip! I’m almost jealous (normally I would be but in this particular instance, I’m not, for what I hope are the obvious reasons).

    Looking forward to the next entry.

    Did y’all realize you are starting to look the same? 🙂

    Like

    • #8 by Ren on April 24, 2009 - 8:53 pm

      Ben – I completely understand your lack of jealousy. And I expect even the little sleep I’m getting on this trip is way more than you are getting.

      Wayne says I need to gain about 50 pounds so that when he loses 30 we’ll look the same.

      Like

  5. #9 by Faiqa on April 24, 2009 - 1:21 pm

    If you guys are twittering to each other in the car, does that mean, GASP, you’re twittering while driving?!!

    Like

  6. #11 by whall on April 25, 2009 - 2:32 pm

    FYI, TWD FTW. BRB, TTYL.

    Like

Leave a Reply

