The Decline of Heroes

Don’t get me wrong, I’m still completely addicted to watching Heroes, and it is the show I watch most immediately after it is recorded. But that behavior is a mixture of habit and hope. Prior to this year, and I even include last fall in this assessment, Heroes was my favorite show.

Not so this year, though it’s not simply that Heroes seems to have lost its way. It also seems that some other shows have stepped it up a bit — in particular, Lost. I think this is probably the best season of Lost since they opened the hatch — or maybe better.

Here are some other shows that I’m currently enjoying more than Heroes:

Smallville
Terminator: The Sarah Connor Chronicles
Lie to Me
Eleventh Hour

That list is actually shorter than I expected, but there are some other shows, like Chuck and Dollhouse, that are pretty even with Heroes. And given the rate at which Dollhouse has been getting better, it’ll probably make the list in the next week or two.

, , , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Avitable on March 29, 2009 - 7:56 am

    Heroes is at the bottom of my list, but I can’t stop watching it. Now that Bryan Fuller is back on the writing staff, I’ve heard that last week’s episode was much improved.

    I think Chuck has gotten significantly better this season, and one of my favorite shows right now is Supernatural. It’s really improved every single season.

    Like

    • #2 by Ren on March 30, 2009 - 7:53 am

      @Avitable – Last week’s “Cold Snap” was better, but I still feel a lack of an over-arching challenge. Being hunted isn’t sufficient on it’s own. There was a hint of something larger a few episodes ago, but it hasn’t gone anywhere.

      I’m still hopeful, though there aren’t too many episodes left — maybe five or six, I think.

      Like

  2. #3 by whall on March 29, 2009 - 6:01 pm

    I still haven’t started season 3. It’s not at blockbuster and I don’t like watching TV online (I should point out that I don’t even know if I could watch S3 online or not). I also don’t like investing the time in downloading the episodes and burning to DVD. I don’t have a setup currently that lets me watch online stuff on my TV (ie, xbox or video cable from laptop) but I might have to change this.

    Like

    • #4 by Ren on March 30, 2009 - 9:31 am

      @whall – Heroes is one of the most available shows today, but I’m not sure any of the available methods help you much. It’s available from iTunes and Amazon UnBox (for a fee), but you’d need either an AppleTV or a TV-connected-computer or TiVo for those. It’s also on Netflix Watch Instantly, which can be viewed on TV with a TiVo or XBox 360. I recently heard that Heroes can also be watched via a PS3, though I’m not sure if that’s using one of the services I’ve already listed or something different.

      If only you could watch it with a Wii, eh? 🙂

      Like

  3. #5 by Hilly on March 30, 2009 - 10:14 pm

    I feel like I have so much invested in Heroes and I cannot look away. It’s sad how frustrated it makes me though.

    I have so much to record on Thursdays that I saved Smallville for summer watching. I cannot wait to see what happened this season!

    Like

    • #6 by Ren on March 31, 2009 - 7:24 am

      @Hilly – I understand exactly how you feel.

      Thursdays are a problem, though it’s only recently affecting me. I’ll have to watch a few upcoming episodes of Bones online.

      Despite the hope that last week’s Heroes episode, “Cold Snap”, offered, tonight’s “Into Asylum” was pretty much a let down. Character development is okay, but a whole episode of it this type of show is just boring.

      Like

      • #7 by Ken on April 2, 2009 - 11:57 am

        I opted to keep Bones on the DVR – partly motivated by the assumption that Fox may “hold” it for a week before making it available online. To be clear I don’t know if this is true but it is true for House, the other Fox show I watch. In this case I swapped what was on the DVR to have House recorded and, since it’s available online the next day, watching Chuck online even though I like it better.

        The second factor is my wife watches Bones too whereas she doesn’t watch either of the conflicting shows so that also drives it to be readily available and watchable.

        Like

      • #8 by Ren on April 2, 2009 - 12:42 pm

        @Ken – I don’t completely follow. Chuck is on Mondays, so isn’t part of the Thursday conflict. Perhaps you means Smallville? But I don’t think that’s available online. Survivor is available online, so that’s an option. Not sure how quickly the episodes go up, though.

        Like

      • #9 by Ken on April 2, 2009 - 12:53 pm

        As my wife tells me – I apparently need better “turn signals”.

        The subject of Chuck came up in relation to House (which is on Mondays at the same time as Chuck). House came up because it shares the same network as Bones and I already knew Fox delayed online streaming for House by about a week. House is also only availble for a handful of episodes. I decided I didn’t want to wait a week to catch the episode and also potentially risk missing episodes if for some reason I took too long to check online for new shows. All of this is only pertinent in that I jumped to the assumption that Bones may have a similar dynamic at work. If it doesn’t then all the above is moot.

        Smallvill is not available online, at least under your conditions, which has been irksome a couple of times when something has made the schedule go ary.

        Like

Leave a Reply

