Stabilization

The lens I ordered last week (Canon 18-200mm f/3.5-5.6 IS) arrived yesterday, but I came home too late to really give it a workout. I did take this shot of our dog, Hershey, as a test of the lens’ stabilization.

hershey_stabilized_example

Handheld, no flash, .3" f/5.6 200mm ISO 1600

As noted in the caption, this was as 3/10 second exposure at focal length of 200mm (on a 1.6x crop factor camera). This image is the jpeg generated from the RAW in Aperture with no color correction or other explicit modifications, though it is resized down for the web and I’m sure Aperture probably applies some sharpening for that.

hershey_stabilized_example_cropHere is a 100% crop of Hershey’s eye. You can see here that the image is not pixel-level sharp, but a significant portion of that can also be attributed to the ISO 1600 that I had to use — obviously, there wasn’t much light to work with.

Still, I am very impressed. On my crop camera, the rule of thumb is that I would need a shutter speed of 1/320 of a second to account for the effective focal length to take such a shot handheld. At 3/10 of a second, this shot was 96 times longer (about 6 1/2 stops). Even though it isn’t perfectly sharp, I think that’s pretty amazing. Of course, this was a single shot rather than a battery of shots, so I could have just gotten lucky.

The girls and I are going to the San Antonio Zoo tomorrow, so I’ll give this lens a real workout then. And it’ll get some interior exercise today at my nephew’s birthday party, though I may be using the flash for most of those shots.

, , ,

  1. #1 by whall on January 17, 2009 - 8:51 pm

    We really should get the pups together.

    Like

  2. #2 by Ren on January 18, 2009 - 11:19 am

    If you invite us over for another fire pit s’mores party, we could bring Hershey over. I’m not sure how well she’d do free-range, though. I don’t recall there being a fence and gate around your property. I guess she could stay in the penned area if necessary.

    Like

  3. #3 by Giggle Pixie on January 18, 2009 - 2:17 pm

    I don’t know much about cameras and all you were describing, but I know I’m in love with your puppy. She’s adorable!

    Like

  4. #4 by Ren on January 18, 2009 - 4:02 pm

    Thanks, Giggle Pixie. I’ll be sure to pass your message along in the form of playful attention. 🙂

    FYI, she’s a Lab/Beagle mix.

    Like

  1. Renagerie » Blog Archive » Trip to the Zoo

Leave a Reply

