Action, No Action

As I mentioned previously, this weekend I participated in the Wurst Ride, a 100 kilometer bike ride from Austin to Wurst Fest in New Braunfels. I did this ride last year as well, and I must say that it was more difficult this year. I attribute this primarily to the fact that I hadn’t ridden at all since the Outlaw Trail three weeks prior, though I think the wind may have been less favorable this year as well.

Marci was originally going to do the full 100K with us (as she did last year, which may be her longest ride), but a friend of ours decided to join us for her first bike ride so Marci did the 42K route with her instead. After the ride, my mother brought our kids down and we hung out at Wurst Fest for several hours, including spending some time with some friends that we hadn’t seen in quite some time. Lots of food, lots of people, lots of fun.

Not surprisingly, our Sunday was spent sleeping and veg’ing in front of the TV. I really need to make a better effort of at least kicking my kids outside for a while even if I’m not joining them. The weather was so nice this weekend that I’m now feeling guilty that we didn’t take advantage of it better on Sunday.

, ,

  1. #1 by Evil Genius on November 10, 2008 - 3:25 pm

    My husband did a 50 on Saturday and it was in the 30’s with rain and sleet coming down the whole time. Yowza!

    They need to have one of those Wurst rides around here. I bet even more people would participate if they did!

    πŸ™‚

    Evil Geniuss last blog post..Hillbilly Pick-Up Lines

    Like

  2. #2 by Ren on November 10, 2008 - 3:39 pm

    It started off a bit chilly (40s, I think), but it warmed up pretty quickly. I think it was probably in the mid-70s by the end of the ride. We seem to have several beer-motivated rides around here, and the turn-out certainly seems good. πŸ™‚

    Like

  3. #3 by martymankins on November 10, 2008 - 4:04 pm

    Reading posts like this makes me want to get back into riding again. I rode a lot in the mid 90’s and used to knock out century rides with no problem. Then I got lazy and started working too much.

    Major congrats, as I know what it takes to complete a ride like that.

    At least you got beer and brats at the end.

    martymankinss last blog post..Scooter Sunday #30

    Like

  4. #4 by Ren on November 10, 2008 - 4:19 pm

    Thanks, Marty! It’s amazing how I can go through times during the ride where I wonder why I put myself through this, but then when the ride is over I’m already looking forward to the next one.

    Like

  5. #5 by Philip J Beyer on November 10, 2008 - 6:34 pm

    awwww, man… just from the post title, I was expecting some sort of Eastern philosophical musings… maybe next time

    glad to hear both of you had good rides… ask my parents about their recent bike ride in the Houston area… something about donuts :p

    Like

  6. #6 by Ren on November 10, 2008 - 7:13 pm

    I’m not sure I’m the type to go all Easter philosophy — perhaps in another life.

    We’re staying in Austin for Thanksgiving, so I’ll have to remember to ask them about it at Christmas.

    Mmmmm….. Doooonutttttssss…..

    Like

  7. #7 by Lee on November 11, 2008 - 11:26 am

    Eh, I’m not impressed. I want to see somebody do a 100K ride FROM Wurstfest! πŸ˜‰

    Lees last blog post..President Obama β€” I’ll drink to that!

    Like

  8. #8 by Ren on November 11, 2008 - 11:32 am

    Yeah, right! I couldn’t even manage the drive home and had to make my wife drive. I did drive my mother’s vehicle back to the 42K starting point where my truck was parked, but even that was pretty tough. Attempting the additional hour or so drive home was not going to work out well.

    (Note that this was not alcohol related as I didn’t partake — not a fan of beer, unfortunately. I was simply exhausted.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

