Holy Cactus!

Golf ball through the cactus

On the 18th hole of this morning’s golf round I hit my tee shot into a hazard left of the fairway. I found my ball and the lie was not too bad. I decided to try and hit an 8 iron over some trees to the green.

Things didn’t quite work out as planned. I failed to get the ball very high, though the result was acceptable and I managed to bogey the hole despite my ball going through the cactus pictured here.

It was a fitting end to a round of golf where I had several things go my way. On the par 3 8th hole I also hit my tee shot left, but it hit the edge of the cart path and bounced onto the green near the hole. On the 9th hole my approach shot was heading right but hit a tree and kicked back toward the green. Along with the cactus shot those were the three big examples.

The end result was an 84 — my best round of the year so far and I think my best score since 2004.

  1. #1 by Ben on August 6, 2008 - 2:24 pm

    Not to mention finding your dead left drives on 1 and 14. 1 wasn’t that lucky, but finding your drive on 14 was a miracle.

    Still, nice round. 🙂

    Like

  2. #2 by Ren on August 6, 2008 - 2:38 pm

    I knew there was another one I meant to mention, but I couldn’t remember that one on 14. That was it, thanks!

    Like

  3. #3 by whall on August 13, 2008 - 10:36 am

    You could get two of them and make a really neat, if painful, Halloween mask.

    whalls last blog post..Dead Man Walking, Google-style

    Like

Leave a Reply

