Lunch at Gumbo’s

After writing about our less-than-stellar experience at Truluck’s last week, I felt I should mention the contrast of today’s lunch at Gumbo’s downtown. I had the sandwich combo with a shrimp po-boy, jambalaya, and chicken and sausage gumbo, followed up with a piece of Bourbon Pecan Pie. All of it was wonderful. A friend dining with me was also quite pleased with the Blackened Beef Tenderloin.

My only complaint is that the service was a bit slow — luckily, we ended up with an extra water glass on the table so I was able to drink from two glasses to avoid being out of water as often as I might otherwise have been. I feel like lots of restaurants have gotten a bit lazy about keeping water glasses filled recently, but I’m probably just creating a pattern where one does not really exist.

, , ,

  1. #1 by Ben on May 28, 2008 - 6:54 pm

    I couldn’t agree more (about getting water never getting refilled anymore). Maybe that’s the first thing that goes when the economy starts going south: the water-refiller-people get canned? Maybe we can make this a (yet another) market index: you can tell the current state of the economy by the frequency with which your water is refilled at restaurants.

    Like

  2. #2 by whall on May 29, 2008 - 10:54 am

    Despite my 5 years spent in Southern Louisiana as a small chillren, I’m not too big on cajun food. So I’d probably never go to Gumbos, even with the added potential of slow water refilling.

    Ruth’s Chris Steakhouse though… now we’re talking. I went there recently for a free lunch sponsored by Microsoft and mmmm, boy howdy the food was good.

    I have a similar lunch by a vendor (EMC) next week at Cool River Cafe.

    (btw, why do you show the gravatar during comment composition but NOT on comment display?)

    Like

  3. #3 by Ren on May 29, 2008 - 12:06 pm

    Ben, ah, the (soon-to-be-)famous empty glass theory of economics!

    Wayne, comment gravatars are now enabled — not sure why it wasn’t working with the base wordpress, which seems to indicate that it should, but I installed the wp-gravatar plugin to get it to work.

    Like

  4. #4 by Ben on May 29, 2008 - 12:50 pm

    Nice!

    Like

  5. #5 by Ren on May 30, 2008 - 1:04 pm

    Just had a very nice lunch at Texas Roadhouse, but my water glass spent most of the meal empty. Maybe there’s something to this empty glass theory after all….

    Like

Leave a Reply

