Anniversary Dinner at Truluck’s

Yesterday was our 15th anniversary and we celebrated by going to see Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull (appropriate as crystal is the theme for the 15th anniversary) and then having dinner at Truluck’s. The movie was enjoyable and the anniversary itself was nice, but this post is really about the restaurant.

I don’t think we’ve ever eaten there before. The atmosphere and service were very nice, though I felt the service was just a bit too “leave you alone” — friendly and helpful, but not quite attentive enough. Earlier in the day I dropped off Marci’s present so they could have it on our table when we arrived, which worked out perfectly.

The food, however, was not what I had hoped. My Hot House Tomato Salad salad was quite good, but I found both of our fish entrees (Grilled Kona Kampachi and Grilled Kona Kampachi) to be too bland. I also ordered a carrot cake, but I didn’t really care for that either. They brought us a small molten chocolate cake for our anniversary which I think was pretty good, though I’m not a big fan of chocolate so it is difficult for me to judge — Marci seemed to like it well enough.

There were a couple of other entrees I had considered (Jalapeño Salmon and Hot-and-Crunchy Trout), but now I don’t really see myself going back. Oh, well.

After I stopped by Blockbuster to return and exchange some discs, I went to my parents’ to pick up the kids and then went home to sleep through most of the American Idol final competition and finale. Marci stayed awake and periodically woke me to let me see what was going on (though less and less as time went on, until the end).

, , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Ben on May 23, 2008 - 10:13 am

    We’ve never been there either, but several people lately have been raving about Truluck’s and telling us to go there. I guess I’m going to have think twice about going there now.

    Like

  2. #2 by Ren on May 23, 2008 - 10:29 am

    I should clarify that nothing was bad and I had relatively high expectations. We probably should’ve just gone to Fogo de Chão. 🙂

    Like

  3. #3 by Ben on May 23, 2008 - 12:07 pm

    🙂 Well, that goes without saying. We’ve got our anniversary coming up on Wednesday, and we’ll probably end up there (Fogo de Chão).

    Like

  4. #4 by whall on May 25, 2008 - 8:36 am

    The first 3 times we went to Truluck’s was amazing – everything was superb.

    The most recent time we went, not so much. The King Crab was good, but the steak seemed worse than the steak I grill at home. I use my own grilling as the barometer for how good a steak should be when I pay someone who supposedly knows what their doing to cook me one.

    Maybe the restaurant is on a downhill?

    We are coming up on our 16th next month.

    Now what on earth could be the theme for 16th anniversary? Is it candy? (sweet 16)… Hmm, or 16 is really “10” in hexadecimal, so maybe it’s dice (the 16-sided kind)?

    Well I just looked it up and it’s “silver hollow ware” whatever THAT is. I guess it’s what you use when eating fancy on the holodeck.

    Like

  5. #5 by Greg Baker on May 27, 2008 - 8:32 am

    Good morning!
    My name is Greg Baker, and I represent Kona Blue, the first ocean pen aquaculture company based offshore Kona, Hawaii.
    I sell Truluck’s Kona Kampachi, and I found my dinner Kona Kampachi with the Trulucks sauce to be very flavorful. I don’t say that only because I love our Hawaiian Yellowtail,but because our fish is a very moist and oily fish( 30% omega-3’s, with no fishy taste nor smell.
    I hope that you will go back to Truluck’s because they buy the very best and freshest fish that can be found.
    Give Kona Kampachi a chance again as well; and please read about our company website.

    thanks
    Greg

    Like

  6. #6 by Ren on May 27, 2008 - 9:14 am

    Correction: My entree was Flounder Pontchartrain.

    I ate the leftovers last night and both the Flounder and the carrot cake were much better. I almost expected this of the Flounder as it has been my experience that Cajun-type sauces are often better the second time around. I have no explanation for why the carrot cake was better.

    Greg, thanks for your comment. When I tried my wife’s Kona Kampachi I didn’t actually try the sauce. I haven’t asked her how she liked the leftovers. I do know that she was particularly disappointed that her asparagus was a bit burnt and commented last night that she really should’ve sent it back originally. This likely colored her opinion of the whole meal. I do recall that she mentioned that it was a bit too fishy for her taste, which is that she doesn’t like her fish to be at all fishy. However, when I tried it I didn’t find it to be fishy.

    Wayne, does this mean that you’ll be booking a holodeck for next month? Marci originally wanted to order steak at Truluck’s but I mentioned that since it was our first time and it was primarily a seafood restaurant, we should order seafood. Perhaps that was a mistake and she would only really have been happy with steak.

    Like

  7. #7 by brian wubbena on May 27, 2008 - 2:56 pm

    hello. this blog was forwarded to me by kona blue fisheries. my name is brian and i am the director of culinary for truluck’s. i’m really sorry that your meal did not meet your expectations. we take our food very seriously and cooking is a source of passion and pride for me. i would love the opportunity to change your opinion of what we do. please email me at bwubbena@trulucks.com and let me have you come in as my guests. i’ll make sure that i am scheduled to be in town and personally ensure that you have a fantastic experience. thank you. b

    Like

  8. #8 by Marci on May 27, 2008 - 3:40 pm

    Well, just to add to the clarification of the meal. Per Ren’s mention that Truluck’s was more of a seafood place, I was willing to try a new type of fish and asked the waitress to compare it to Mahi, one of my favorites. She mentioned that it was a meatier fish and more flavorful (which I agree on both accounts). I must say though, that the fish itself was nice, but the sauce was lacking per the description. I personally did not care for the skin on it, but in general it was good. On the other hand, the burned asparagus was the major disappointment. I think it did affect the overall presentation and enjoyment of the meal – especially since I love asparagus and will try any dish that has it on it.

    The wine was a new one for me and was nice (can’t remember it offhand – white crisp from Europe – Italy or France) and the molten chocolate dessert was wonderfully sinful. I was eye-ing the chocolate box but once the molten chocolate arrived, we got the carrot cake. One thing that we both liked, and fought over the last piece, was the cinnamon walnut bread for the table.

    Overall, I was not overwhelmed, and had we spent more, I would have been highly disappointed.

    Like

  9. #9 by Ben on May 28, 2008 - 7:15 pm

    Just realized that we did almost the same thing on our anniversary as y’all did.

    We feel so unoriginal!

    Like

  1. Ren’s Journal » Blog Archive » Lunch at Gumbo’s

Leave a Reply

